Swimming with the fishies

Some of you may have come across Google’s malware warning (Warning: this site may damage your computer). It’s explained here and here.

I was interested to see that they have identified the site of Irish State agency Bord Iascaigh Mhara (Sea Fisheries Board) as such (www.bim.ie): see the image below. I’ve let BIM know about this and hopefully it’s nothing serious. Interesting to see Google’s approach in action, though.

I mentioned this before in a rambling post here. It’s great to link to Ethan Zuckerman so I’ll do it again as I did in that post: read this (still) great post. The related questions of defamation and search engine immunity are both fascinating.

Looking at the code of http://www.bim.ie, nothing jumps out at me as (sorry) fishy – though perhaps the techies out there might want to look too and see if they spot anything unusual? Wisdom of the crowds and all that 😉


2 thoughts on “Swimming with the fishies

  1. Some time in early/mid March 08, bim.ie was compromised and had a javascript link inserted into its pages (<script src=http://www)

    I notified them as soon as I saw it, but they certainly took no action for a couple of weeks, and did not contact me after I informed them.

    Details of the exploit can be found here http://isc.sans.org/diary.html?storyid=4139

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s