A Racketeering Net Mint…

…is an anagram, says Twenty Major (over here), of Ace Internet Marketing. I couldn’t possibly comment.

I’m sorry for the delay in approving some of your comments. See, some clever kid has decided to to flood Lex Ferenda (and in particular the thread about Ace) with spam. After some response to a post of mine, they proceeded to attack the post and the site as a whole. As I hold all first-time comments for moderation, marking them for deletion took some time, and I’m very sorry if I deleted any *real* comments in the meantime.

In the meantime, I’ve received another love letter from Ace. Now, as you recall, someone purporting to speak for them (although later claiming not to be a principal) has threatened to sue me about this post. The recent missive contains a bizarre and probably unenforceable beefed-up disclaimer. In particular, I am asked not to “peruse, use, disseminate, distribute or copy” the message. (How am I supposed to read it then???)

I do not have a contract with the sender, of course, and it is a virtually worthless disclaimer. I see no grounds for an expectation of confidentiality in its contents, and indeed this is an unsolicited message with someone I have no business or private relationship with. However, recognising that this mail (as distinct from previous ones) does contain a statement that “this email is private” I will simply summarise its contents here.

A further request is made for removal of the original post (I will not comply with this request and I have responded accordingly). It is suggested that it is time to “nip this in the bud” as I have not taken their warnings. (An unusual statement that Ace Internet Marketing is not a company is also included, which would seem to be confusing).

The email also includes a question as to my motives here. I have none. I write about Internet law. Damien’s blog highlighted an interesting question of apparent disregard for IP laws. While not agreeing with all IP law (of course), I wrote about the apparent violation of copyright law. Of course, the original post has now disappeared. Admission of wrongdoing perhaps?

The footer, containing the supposed disclaimer (it has changed in every mail!), says that if I receive the message in error, I should contact legal@techstore.ie. I wonder if techstore.ie are aware of the threats.

Thanks to all the people who added comments to the original post about the libel threat and in particular those who made fun of the unusually badly spelled and punctuated threat of legal action. You may also enjoy an exchange in the comments on Damien’s blog – an anonymous person of dubious origin is criticising Damien’s reaction to the unauthorised copying of his content. I wonder who it is….


24 thoughts on “A Racketeering Net Mint…

  1. The Illiterate One is probably right in saying that Ace Internet Marketing isn’t a company. However, why not visit http://www.allwhois.com and enter the domain “aceinternetmarketing.ie”?

    That might provide some clarification.

    Furthermore, as you didn’t invite any of the emails, and have no agreement or contract with the sender, I can see no reason why you would be under any obligation whatever to keep them confidential.

  2. No obligation of confidentiality but just as a minor gesture towards decent ethics and respect for a request, I’m just opting not to publish at the present time, without even accepting the slightest notion of confidentiality. Obviously this is subject to review 😉

  3. According to the CRO and Whois (assuming that they are being honest in their Whois entry, which I believe the .ie registrar is rather fussy about), they are INTERCOM TECHNOLOGY & TRAINING LIMITED. They have CRO filings and everything! Sounds like a company to me…

  4. Good point. Not to mention that if my comments were about “Ace Internet Marketing” and they say that AIM is not a company (legal person), that really makes the job of the imaginary company in suing me rather difficult.

    The business address for Intercom Tech & Training is: UNIT 5 GLENROYAL CENTRE MAYNOOTH CO KILDARE.

    The business address for Ace Internet Marketing is: Unit 4, Block F, Maynooth Business Campus, Maynooth, Co Kildare

    Techstore have at various times given both addresses.

    Draw your own conclusions (not that it matters!)

  5. Haven’t got the time this time, unfortunately, but I’d be happy to link to anyone else’s contributions. Knock yourself out folks 😉

    Suggestions: the classic Motorhead “Ace of Spades” or perhaps A-C-E (it’s fun to be sued by the A, A-C-E).

  6. Where does Internet Law on us all going to ACE, Techstore et al’s various websites and hitting refresh many many times in an attempt to drive their bandwidth costs through the roof?

    It’s shady right?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s